Tue Review: 3 October 2017

Okay, it’s been a whole month since I did an update, AND I haven’t done much towards my goals. But I survived the biggest event of the year for work, and had a wonderful getaway to France!

The getaway was exactly what we had hoped for. With work being so busy, we wanted to have a weekend away somewhere we could take long, curiosity-raising walks and then sit and admire our surroundings. Carcassonne was perfect for that! We walked all around the city walls, ate amazing food and sat in picturesque little coffee shops and stared lovingly at each other in a very cartoony fashion!

 

We plan to have more weekends like that. As many as we can before Ryanair completely falls over…

Brain: I will write a To-Do list.
Action: Is that the most pathetic thing on a to-do list to not have done? Haha, oh well.

Body: I will have two “exercise days” per week.
Action: This, I’m doing well! Averaging 11k steps over the getaway, and I’ve been scooting. Well, not when it was wet, and now I’m waiting for my post-Freshers-flu asthma before returning to the scooting. But the walks around here are soooo peaceful so I should still be able to get enough steps.

Soul: I will express myself creatively for 30 minutes each week.
Action: I might have done this, but I wasn’t really paying attention!!!

Tue Review: 5 September 2017

Did I miss a week again? Did I miss two? Yikes! Where does the time go? I’ve definitely been feeling out of sorts lately. There has been so much happening ever since we moved. I often feel as though my actions during the day are all predetermined, not by me. I’ve had to carve out tiny pockets of time to write, which is very difficult. Most days writing is just a dream. All I can usually manage is a few 5 minute blocks of Candy Crush Saga. Candy Crush is my lifesaver at the moment. It completely calms my mind down!

There are a lot of good things to look forward to on the horizon. We booked a spontaneous trip to France for a weekend, and we’re headed to Portugal for Christmas. I have high hopes for smoothing things out in the office over the coming months. My team are quite frazzled right now, and things will get worse before they get better, but one October comes most of the workload will ease. Senior Management have often referred to my role as the “ship’s captain”, and I hope to be seen as someone they can have faith in – thus avoiding a mutiny!

Now that the mess of moving house is calming down, I think I need to really stop and take accountability for how I’m managing life in general. I’ve really struggled lately to concentrate on getting one thing done at a time (common problem for me!) and instead I’m getting mentally exhausted for no measurable output. So I’ve wiped my goal list clean again. I need really simple, dead easy, super basic goals this week.

Brain: I will write a To-Do list.
Action: I write To-Do lists all the time. But what I mean by this one is that I will create a lazy whiteboard at home and write on it everything I want to get done, but only tasks that can actually be crossed off as totally complete. So I’m not going to put things like “write a blog post”, because that’s reoccurring. What I will put is the one-off tasks. Sort out the filing. Sign up to a local fitness class. Change our address with my loyalty cards. I get discouraged and distracted by long lists in my mind. It’s much better to have them on a whiteboard, where I can update it and can’t misplace it.

Body: I will have two “exercise days” per week.
Action: Sounds lazy, doesn’t it? Only exercising twice a week? But I need to stop overthinking this. I need to stop getting disappointed in myself every time I don’t do something. An “exercise day” will be a day I meet a good level of exercise: that means I scoot my commute, or I attend a fitness class, or I do 10k steps.

Soul: I will express myself creatively for 30 minutes each week.
Action: Okay, I realise that I have previously said that I don’t like vague goals. So I will define creative expression as writing, cooking or repairs. Cooking and repairs might sound like they are less creative, but I get the same feeling form it. There is a tangible result, which has been made by me. It’s satisfying all the same!

Tue Review: 15 August 2017

I’ve done something small and it’s driving me crazy. I misplaced a key. The last time I used it was only yesterday morning, and yet I can’t remember where I put it. The second-last time I used it, I remember thinking “We really need to make a copy of this key, it’s risky to only have one.”
 
Ironic, hey?
 
There are three things that we are unable to access do to my carelessness:
1.       My beloved scooter
2.       Our collection of alcoholic spirits
3.       Our rubbish bins
 
Despite the fact that the council hasn’t collect our rubbish for a month, the last item above is the most awkward. I’m going to have to take our kitchen waste for a walk to throw into a public bin. Fine for today, not a great long-term solution.
 
My task for tonight is to find this stupid key. I’m sure we could order a replacement. It might cost us 2 weeks and £20 or something, but that’s not the point. I’m just extremely absent-minded at times, particularly if I’m stressed or worried about something. Whatever is in my hand will just disappear. I’ll put it down somewhere and even when I find it I have no memory of putting it there.
 
Not the worst. I once went to eat a hot cross bun and suddenly realised I’d eaten four. That’s extremely annoying, because I got none of the enjoyment of eating and all of the calories!!!
 
I’m aware that I’ve not been properly managing my time or commitments lately. Instead of actively spending my spare time on things that I enjoy or that are good for me, I’ve been mindlessly zoning out online with games and FB scrolling. Not the best way to spend an evening.
 
My new motto should be Blog, Don’t Blob! 😀
 
But anyway, let’s see how the rest of life is going!
 
Brain Goal: I will get up to date with my new job.
Action: I’m almost there. It’s still been a rough ride!
 
Body Goal: I will get better at riding the scooter until I can scoot all the way to work without stopping.
Action: I can get a third of the way on the my less dominant side, so that’s an improvement!
 
Soul Goal: I will plan my blog posts for the rest of the year.
Action: Okay, still not done yet. But I have hope 🙂
 
*Update: The building team had spare keys and gave me three, no charge! Wednesday win!!!

Tue Review: 1 August 2017

What a long day! I was interviewing nearly all day, and that’s a lot of human contact for an introvert! Yikes! My head is ready to explode!
Brain Goal: I will review my blog plan this weekend I will get up to date with my new job.
Action: This is a real goal. I’ve been behind on my emails since day one, and it’s coming to the end of the quiet time and I’m not up to date with anything. I need to catch up soon before my energy runs out.
Body Goal: I will walk 10,000 steps per day. I will get better at riding the scooter until I can scoot all the way to work without stopping.
Action: This is a remarkably challenging goal. I’ve used my scooter to get to work once so far. It took just over half an hour and I had to stop several times because I was so out of breath. It’s fun, but it’s hard work! But I will gradually get better, and hopefully be able to scoot equally with either leg. So far I can only balance on my right leg. On my leg I wobble and can’t ride straight!
Soul Goal: I will write a business plan for my next venture – getting paid to write. I will plan my blog posts for the rest of the year.
Action: I love my blogs 🙂 I need to take better care of them!

Tue Review: 25 July 2017

Well, I’ve been quiet for far too long. But what a month it has been! New job is still feeling good and we are 80% moved in to our new place! My scooter was delivered this morning so I’ll get to try it out tonight. I’m managed to negotiate Wednesday afternoons off at work and I’m taking half this week as leave. Things are going pretty damn well right now! But waves of exhaustion, anxiety and stress crash down at various intervals and I wonder what will happen next. Mainly, however, I wonder when I will get the chance to have some time to do my own thing. I’m sneaking in this quick bit of writing and I can’t explain how good it feels to get thoughts out into any visual medium.  Out of my overstuffed mind and out in an orderly fashion. Lovely.
 
Other body challenges have been getting in my way. That my workplace provides a free lunch is not good for my wardrobe; the number of items I can comfortably fit into is, unlike my belly region,  somewhat reduced.
Brain Goal: I will review my blog plan this weekend
Action: I finished the rough plan for Camp Nanowrimo, then got so busy with the new job and the house move that I didn’t actually go to camp. Oops
Body Goal: I will walk 10,000 steps per day.
Action: I’m averaging 7-8k, so I feel okay.
Soul Goal: I will write a business plan for my next venture – getting paid to write.
Action: Still on hold.

Tue Review: 6 June 2017

I’m actually writing this on Wednesday. What a week. The new job is great so far! Day one was intense information overload, but not as bad as most first days because I was familiar with some of the work already. Well, the terms for the work. I’ve not actually done any of it. The next two days have been less intense, more detail and lots and lots of meetings with people whose names I can’t remember.

I am so glad that many people there have their photos on their online profile, otherwise I wouldn’t even remember the names in my own team!

Brain Goal: I will test my new blog plan over the craziness of Easter. I will review my blog plan this weekend

Action: On hold,  BUT I hope to do some planning for Camp Nanowrimo next month.

Body Goal: I will walk 10,000 steps per day.
Action: Averaging 6-7k. Not bad not great.

Soul Goal: I will write a business plan for my next venture – getting paid to write.
Action: Still on hold 🙂

Tue Review: 30 May 2017

My last week at work! Eeeek!!! I’m still not convinced that I’ll be ready in time and I only have three days left! Then one teenie tiny weekend and I’m diving into the deep end at the new job. Good god, could things be crazier?

Apparently, yes. We also decided a few weeks ago to try to buy a house. Looks like we may have done it. Things are looking good, but it’s a waiting game at the moment. What a way to develop one’s skills at being patient. Hmm.

Brain Goal: I will test my new blog plan over the craziness of Easter. I will review my blog plan this weekend
Action: Is it really realistic for me to think I’ll be able to do anything on any weekend in the near future? I think not.

Body Goal: I will walk 10,000 steps per day.
Action: I think I’m only hitting this target one day per week, but that’s better than nothing.

Soul Goal: I will write a business plan for my next venture – getting paid to write.
Action: Still on hold 🙂

Tue Review: 23 May 2017

Could I BE any busier right now? Maybe, but at work I’m just madly writing all day and stupidly I planned my most hectic meeting of the week to be this morning at 9am, when I really should have given myself a few more days to plan for it. My planning skills have really fallen apart since the beginning of the year. I got behind at work and never quite caught up. Now it’s too late and I’m frantically trying to get as much done as possible before I leave.

Not that I should feel too bad. I mean, the reason I’m not being extended is that I already hit the key targets. But still, my inner perfectionist is not content being on the “inner” right now and is fighting her way out!

Brain Goal: I will test my new blog plan over the craziness of Easter. I will review my blog plan this weekend
Action: I’m definitely going to build on it over this weekend. I’m thinking of doing Camp NaNoWriMo in July for my blog posts. That might be optimistic, but it should also be fun!

Body Goal: I will walk 10,000 steps per day.
Action: Haven’t even looked at my step counter. Oops.

Soul Goal: I will write a business plan for my next venture – getting paid to write.
Action: Still on hold 🙂

Tue Review: 16 May 2017

 

Another week has passed? How did that happen! But I’m almost ready to breathe again. Still working on wrapping up at work. New colleagues keep telling me how happy they are that I’m starting there soon (they’re a super happy bunch!). And hubby and I have been feeling like having a good clean-out at home and going a bit minimalistic. I’m all for it! I’m feeling ready to simplify!

Brain Goal: I will test my new blog plan over the craziness of Easter. I will review my blog plan this weekend
Action: It was working, so I’m confident I can get it working again.

Body Goal: I will walk 10,000 steps per day.
Action: My average has dropped now that I’m desk-bound most of the day, but I did hit 10k this afternoon. Yay!

Soul Goal: I will write a business plan for my next venture – getting paid to write.
Action: Still on hold. Give me a month 🙂